40th Zagreb Salon international photography exhibition on view at NSK until 10 Jan 2023

Objavljeno 22.12.2022.

On 19 December 2022, the National and University Library in Zagreb (NSK) hosted the opening of the 40th Zagreb Salon, the 2022 edition of an annual international photography exhibition organised by Fotoklub Zagreb, the oldest non-profit photographers association in this part of Europe and one of the oldest in the world. Supported by the International Federation of Photographic Art (FIAP), The Photographic Society of America (PSA), Croatian Photographic Union, Croatian Ministry of Culture and Media and The City of Zagreb, the exhibition will remain on view until 10 January 2023. 

Preceded by a competition attracting almost 6,000 entries from 358 authors, the exhibition features around a hundred photographs selected from 1314 accepted photographs by 284 authors from 40 countries, including Australia, Brazil, China, Croatia, Denmark, Germany, India, Italy, Slovenia, Ukraine, US and the United Kingdom.

A jury consisting of award-winning photographers Jasmina Gorjanski (Croatia), Jure Kravanja (Slovenia) and Nenad Martić (Croatia) singled out Zoltan Bisak (Serbia) as the 2022 Salon’s best author and Darija Nonveiller Šesto as the Salon’s best Croatian author.

The FIAP Gold Medal was awarded to Adrian Whear (Australia), PSA Gold Medal to Manfred Kluger (Germany), while the Fotoklub Zagreb association’s Gold Medal went to David Wheeler (Great Britain).

Apart from Darija Nonveiller Šesto, other medal winners from Croatia were Ljiljana Padovan, Zvonko Radičanin, Mary Crnkovic Pilaš, Samir Kurtagić, Igor Popović, Vlatko Šplihal and Ernest Mazarekić.

The Fotoklub Zagreb association, which brought forward many generations of Croatian photographers, including prominent names such as Tošo Dabac, Mladen Grčević, Milan Fizi, Milan and Slavka Pavić, Marija Braut and others, organises some 20 photography exhibitions, around 30 programmes on photography and several photography courses a year and currently has over 200 active members.